Flourish // Perish


Flourish // Perish



Flourish // Perish showcases the strength of BRAIDS as a collective, and explores their burgeoning love for electronic music.  The band brings their widely disparate strengths together to create a distinctive voice; the organic and complex rhythms dance and spar with sparsely decorative sounds, often fragmented and tampered. Interwoven amongst these threads is the layered voice of Standell-Preston, her engaging lyrics and human performance drawing the listener close.

After 18 months of touring in support of Native Speaker, along with the departure of a band member, the band secluded themselves in their Montreal studio for a year of writing and recording. While Native Speaker was written in an organic and live environment, the group sought to explore a more introspective and electronic approach to songwriting. Sonically, the songs from these sessions are delicate and tight, yet thoughtfully open up to the rich lushness reminiscent of their older material. Lyrically they are honest and vulnerable, demonstrating the group’s emotional growth and maturity since their last record.

1. Victoria 3:55
2. Fruend 4:49
3. December 4:43
4. Hossak 3:16
5. Girl 2:55
6. Together 8:17
7. Ebben 5:56
8. Amends 6:04
9. Juniper 6:27
10. In Kind 7:49