Lesser Evil


Lesser Evil



Doldrums first full length, Lesser Evil, comes after many years of smaller EPs, performance, and video art. Airick Woodhead, deeply entrenched in the Montreal and Toronto DIY scenes, has been a longtime friend and collaborator of Arbutus.

Woodhead is “immune to technology”; the singer, producer, multi instrumentalist certainly uses technology hard enough that it breaks down completely; the cover art for Lesser Evil is simply a photograph of his broken Laptop screen. The album features warped short-looped samples, which congeal with drum parts and Woodhead’s distinct falsetto, creating a live energy that is experiential, raw and solitary.

The live show takes these songs and sets them with percussion – often with two or more live drummers on stage. The songs on Lesser Evil shift with the energy of experience, a notion that plays strongly on Doldrums entire aesthetic – exploring the disorienting, exotic and truly compelling experimental realm of Airick Woodhead.

1. Intro 1:07
2. Anomaly 4:24
3. She Is the Wave [ft. Guy Dallas] 2:59
4. Sunrise 2:02
5. Egypt 5:54
6. Holographic Sandcastles [ft. Sami Nacomi] 4:30
7. Singularity Acid Face 1:18
8 Live Forever 4:54
9. Golden Calf 3:14
10. Lost in Everyone 4:38
11. Painted Black 3:27