Trippple Midnight
Trippple Midnight Trippple Midnight

Sean Nicholas Savage

Trippple Midnight



Welcome Trippple Midnight, a piece of sexual and psychedelic soul music.

Savage returns to his bedroom studio the first time since his early work Summer 5000, Here Comes the Future and explores finger rhythm, synth, guitar solos and his own vocal harmony. All synthetic sounds on the album are played through, not sequenced, by Savage off his girlfriend’s keyboard circa 1990, and all guitar is soloed directly into the computer. But producer Sebastian Cowan stepped onto the scene, and the two laid heavy effects onto all tracks, and mixed the entire album on Cowan’s tape machine at La Brique in Montreal.

The songs are heavily influenced by late Marvin Gaye (“Sexual Healing”), yet contain graceful Sean Nicholas Savage melodies throughout. Under the late night party/background vibe of the album hides a real dark confusion, expressed unusually in the happy chords of “Getting To Know Myself”: “When I was young/I knew exactly who I was/But now I can’t/tell you who I am”. Other hits include “Someone’s got a Secret” and “Common Be Happy” — Latin/Reggae rhythms with classic Savage vocals marry The Police, Motown and the 90′s.

1. Babe 4:19
2. Can't Get My Mind Off You 3:33
3. Serious Eyes 3:29
4. Common Be Happy 4:13
5. Someone's Got A Secret 3:34
6. Hawaiian Dancer 4:34
7. Getting To Know Myself 3:53
8. Common Get Off My Mind 3:29
9. Watching Me Fly 3:32
10. Took My Feeling For A Walk 3:46
11. The Natural Rhythm 4:04